AATC Congratulates the 2020 Award Winners

Awardees will be recognized at the AATC Annual Conference on October 7-9, 2021, in Albuquerque, New Mexico. We extend our gratitude to the award committees for their service.

The O.L. Davis, Jr. Outstanding Book Award is presented to Kenneth J. Saltman for his book Scripted Bodies: Corporate Power, Smart Technologies, and the Undoing of Public Education.

The Francis P. Hunkins Distinguished Article Award in the category of curriculum is presented to Steven Camicia and Juanjuan Zhu for their article, LGBTQ Inclusion and Exclusion in State Social Studies Standards: Implications for Critical Democratic Education. In the category of teaching, the Hunkins Award is presented to Momina Khan for her article, When Does Free Speech Become Offensive Speech? Teaching Controversial Issues in the Classrooms.

The John Laska Dissertation Award in the category of curriculum is presented to Jennifer L. Schneider for her dissertation, Centering Aesthetically within Place: A Geostory Composed from an Arts-Based Pragmatist Inquiry. The Laska award in the category of teaching is presented to Kelley C. Johnston for her dissertation,(Re)Imagining Possibilities for Youth in Schools: A Rhizomatic Exploration of Youths’ Affective Engagements with Literacy.